最大的自閉症神話中的 3 個

“自閉症患者社交能力差”

自閉症患者社交能力。

 

我們需要停止延續自閉症患者有社交缺陷的說法。當言語和語言治療師對自閉症兒童進行評估時,他們需要考慮到大多數評估都是基於神經典型 (NT) 的社會規範。 語用學是一個建立在 NT 交流風格之上的領域。

A table with colourful children's toys like lego, bricks, disney figures, magazines. In the middle of the image it says "friends" in scrabble letters.

將自閉症兒童標記為“社會障礙”,因為他們不像 NT 兒童那樣行事,這是一種能力主義者(歧視性的)。期望自閉症兒童表現出完全不同的神經類型的社交技能,他們不像他們那樣體驗世界,這是不合理的。通過將 NT 社交技能強加給自閉症兒童,它傳達了一個信息,即 NT 以某種方式“正確”而自閉症兒童“做錯了”。

A teenage male sat on a bench on their own looking down at their mobile phone. Grey background

強迫自閉症患者使用 NT 社交技能會導致:

教授社交技能背後的基本原理是讓自閉症患者學習如何在“現實世界”(與 NTs ......)中社交,這樣他們就可以結交朋友並過上充實的生活。但結果往往是自閉症患者經歷相反的情況。告訴他們為了結交朋友並在生活中取得成功,他們必鬚髮揮這些社交技能並採取更多的 NT 行為,這是極具破壞性的。它教他們戴面具。不得不採用 NTs 的社交技巧會使自閉症患者感到更加孤立、不安全、沮喪和焦慮,因為如果他們想被接受,他們就會覺得自己的行為不那麼自閉。它不會導致持久的有意義的友誼——它導致友誼是表面的、片面的、不那麼有意義的,最終讓自閉症患者因為模仿 NT 的疲憊而感到被誤解和精疲力竭。

 

作為一個邊緣化群體,自閉症患者從孩提時代起就一直被社會排斥、欺凌和排斥——即使他們嘗試採用 NT 的社交技能並像其他人一樣行事。社交技能培訓教會他們融入、融入,並且他們了解到做真實的自己是不行的。

很多閱讀本文的人可能會想“好吧,這聽起來很有趣,我明白了。但是等等,自閉症孩子必須為‘現實世界’做好準備並像我們一樣生活在社會中。我們必須教他們這些技能。每個人都必須這樣做,這就是生活” 

我對此的回應是 - 教自閉症患者了解 NT 如何社交和交流是可以的。事實上,我們有責任這樣做,因為他們將與社區中的 NT 互動 - 為了他們自己的安全和福祉,他們需要為此做好準備,以便他們知道如何在發生誤解時管理互動。因為他們會。這並不意味著我們要求他們必須採用這些社交技能。我們向 NT 和自閉症患者教授彼此的溝通方式。

 

另外 - 假設“我們”和“其他人”都是 NT,那麼不,這不一樣。

 

自閉症患者在神經系統上是不同的,他們生活在一個不適合他們的世界中。這意味著 NT 人不會像自閉症患者那樣經曆日常的掙扎和障礙。 NTs 不必像自閉症患者那樣戴面具——當然不會達到同樣的程度,如果他們戴面具,這與自閉症患者的面具完全不同。 NTs 不會經歷相同的情感、精神和身體上的掩飾傷害。由於抑制了自閉症特徵,他們沒有感覺超負荷和崩潰。他們不必花費數小時/數天/數週從持續的社交互動中充電。他們沒有體驗到它對自尊造成的損害。他們不必壓抑自己的刺激、模仿、交流方式或特殊興趣。他們不必強迫目光接觸到身體疼痛的程度。他們不必為了被接受而放棄自己的真實性——不像自閉症患者那樣。他們在就業、教育和社區方面沒有遇到同樣的障礙。

自閉症患者與其他人在一起時有更好的社交參與 自閉症人士

研究/證據

  • 自閉症人士與 NT 人士一樣成功地分享信息。自閉症患者“有能力與他人很好地分享信息並體驗良好的融洽關係,並且在自閉症和非自閉症患者互動時存在選擇性問題”- (Crompton 等人,2020 年)
     

  • 與非自閉症人士相比,自閉症人士向其他自閉症人士透露了更多關於自己的信息。 “結果表明,與其他自閉症患者合作時,自閉症成年人的社會歸屬感可能會增加,並支持將自閉症患者的社交互動困難重新定義為一種關係而非個人障礙”- (Morison 等人,2020 年)
     

  • “神經典型的同齡人不太願意根據薄片判斷與自閉症患者互動”- (Sasson 等人,2017 年)

Grey background of two hands holding a small black paper heart

外賣消息...

​正如我們向自閉症兒童教授 NT 社交技能一樣,我們也必須教給 NT 兒童自閉症社交技能是什麼樣的。並接受這一點。我們需要讓自閉症患者以他們喜歡的方式進行交流,讓他們成為真正的自己。 

“自閉症患者缺乏同理心”

雖然我不否認一些自閉症患者缺乏同理心(就像一些典型的神經症患者一樣),但幾十年來一直假設自閉症 = 沒有同理心。自閉症患者實際上對事物的感受如此強烈以至於無法抗拒。我認識的一些最有同理心的人是自閉症患者。對環境中的刺激過度敏感意味著其他人的情緒可能會讓人筋疲力盡 (參見“感官處理”) 當自閉症患者試圖處理如此多的刺激,同時處理語言處理/執行功能困難時,社會互惠可能會要求過高。然而,對於 NTS 來說,這通常被誤解為溝通缺陷。

Two light skinned hands touching each other on a wooden table with a rainbow shining on them

雙重同理心問題 由 Damian Milton 博士(自閉症研究人員/學者)創造的說法指出,同理心是一個關係性的、交易性的過程,因此對話是一條兩條路。之間發生的誤會 神經典型和自閉症患者 發生在兩個人身上。相互的不理解是雙方共同的;非自閉症和自閉症人士。一個神經典型的人不會理解自閉症患者如何體驗世界,也不會像自閉症患者那樣交流。

然而,自閉症患者被貼上社交障礙的標籤並接受治療以迫使他們更好地理解非自閉症患者,而不是教會 NT 自閉症患者的溝通方式。 NTs 以不同的方式交流。例如,NT 會給出提示,並假設自閉症患者應該知道他們在想什麼(讀心術),並期望他們知道要給出什麼回應。

 

NT 強加了他們關於什麼是社會可接受的想法。 NT 通常不會考慮在這些交流中自閉症患者的想法,以及為什麼他們可能沒有給他們期望的回應的潛在原因。這是雙重同理心問題。自閉症患者為什麼沒有回應 NT 發起的話題可能有多種原因—— 見“能力主義”。 

由於溝通方式的差異,自閉症患者與社區中的人經常發生溝通障礙。許多 NT 會聲稱他們比自閉症患者擁有更出色的社交技能。但事實並非如此。有很多 NT 缺乏同理心,社交能力也很差。 NTs 不說他們的意思,為不同的解釋留有餘地,他們說的話含糊不清,然後當自閉症患者提出問題以澄清時,NT 對待他們就像他們是有問題的人一樣。當我們說“我不明白你的意思”或“我不明白”時,NT 有責任澄清誤解並進行清楚的溝通。

A green speech bubble with yellow scrunched up balls in the middle in front of a yellow background
 

“自閉症患者缺乏心理理論(ToM)”

ToM 被稱為“讓自己站在別人的立場上的能力”。據說 ToM 缺乏(或不存在)自閉症患者,然而,幾十年來它被廣泛誤解,並在當代研究中完全揭穿。

 

ToM 的想法來自於 1980 年代設計的錯誤信念(欺騙)測試,稱為The Sally-Anne test 臨床心理學家 Simon Baron-Cohen 及其同事設計了該測試以評估兒童的 ToM。他們發現自閉症兒童未能通過這項測試,而神經型兒童則通過了這項測試。 Baron-Cohen 提出了“思維失明”理論(無法知道別人在想什麼),他的發現導致該理論被用作數十年有關自閉症的研究和乾預的框架。它在大學課程和學位課程中教授。 

測試問題

1) 除了擁有一個“完整的”ToM 之外,通過這個測試還有更多的意義。

僅僅證明孩子可以預測他人的結果是不夠的。要跟隨它,孩子必須跟隨敘述中 2 個角色的動作,必須知道 Sally 不可能看到對象的切換,並且必須理解問題的確切含義。因此,如果您是一個有語言困難、排序有問題、焦慮、注意力不集中的孩子,他們很容易失敗。

 

2) 該研究的樣本量很小

在這項研究中,僅包括 20 名自閉症兒童和 27 名神經典型兒童,或者,正如 Baron-Cohen 所描述的, “正常兒童” 。從少數參與者中得出這樣的結論尤其令人擔憂,因為它引發了一代理論和假設。  
 

3) 測試基於神經典型發育規範 

......它根據研究人員的世界經驗得出結論。這是一種典型的神經體驗。
 

4) 自閉症患者在涉及欺騙的測試中往往表現不佳。
 

5)ToM赤字無法解釋 無法相互理解的兩組人
 

6)ToM 在一些自閉症兒童中可能會延遲,但這並不意味著它永遠不存在

The Sally Anne Test used in a Theory of Mind test from the 1980s

Sally-Anne 測試

替代理論...

A round shape with a white background and a black heart shape made from two hands

有趣的是, 對自閉症兒童進行了稍微改動的測試版本,對正確答案提供獎勵,這極大地改善了結果(74% 的兒童通過了這項測試,而只有 13% 通過了原始測試) 並且後來出現了一個較新的理論:ToM 可以分為情感移情(推斷人們的情緒)和認知移情(推斷人們的信念)。雖然一些自閉症患者在認知測量上的得分較低,但與非自閉症患者相比,他們在情感測量上的得分沒有差異。 

 

來源

 

  • 米爾頓,DEM(2012 年)。關於自閉症的本體論地位:“雙重移情問題”。殘疾與社會,27(6),883-887。

  • “說到自閉症”(2020 年)。 - 雙重移情問題: 鏈接 

  • Sasson, N.、Faso, D.、Nugent, J. 等。神經典型的同齡人不太願意與基於薄切片判斷的自閉症患者互動。科學報告 7, 40700 (2017)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/srep40700

  • Kasari C、Dean M、Kretzmann M、Shih W、Orlich F、Whitney R、Landa R、Lord C、King B. 自閉症譜系障礙兒童和學校社交技能組:比較乾預方法和同伴組成的隨機試驗。 J 兒童心理精神病學。 2016 年 2 月;57(2):171-9。 https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26391889/

  • Crompton CJ、Ropar D、Evans-Williams CV、Flynn EG、Fletcher-Watson S。自閉症點對點信息傳輸非常有效。自閉症。 2020;24(7):1704-1712。 doi:10.1177/1362361320919286

  • Morrison KE、DeBrabander KM、Jones DR、Faso DJ、Ackerman RA、Sasson NJ。與典型的發展中伴侶相比,自閉症成人與自閉症患者在現實世界中的社交互動結果。自閉症。 2020 年 7 月;24(5):1067-1080。 doi:10.1177/1362361319892701

  • Peterson, C., Slaughter, V., Peterson, J., Premack, D. (2013)。 “自閉症兒童可以在競爭性遊戲中追踪他人的信念。  關聯

  • 薩莉-安妮測試。男爵-科恩,西蒙;萊斯利,艾倫 M.; Frith, Uta(1985 年 10 月)。 “自閉症孩子有“心智理論”嗎?  - 鏈接

  • 相互(錯誤)理解:使用相關理論重新構建自閉症語用“障礙” 引文:Williams GL、Wharton T 和 Jagoe C(2021)相互理解:使用相關理論重新構建自閉症語用“障礙”。正面。心理學。 12:616664。 doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2021.616664 鏈接

3 OF THE BIGGEST AUTISM MYTHS

"Autistic people have poor social skills"

Autistic people have social skills. We need to stop perpetuating the narrative that autistic people have social deficits. When Speech and Language Therapists carry out assessments on autistic children, they need to consider that the majority of assessments are based on neurotypical (NT) social norms. Pragmatics is a field built upon NT styles of communication.

A table with colourful children's toys like lego, bricks, disney figures, magazines. In the middle of the image it says "friends" in scrabble letters.

Labelling autistic children as 'socially impaired' because they don't act like NT children is ableist. It is unreasonable to expect autistic children to perform the social skills of a completely different neurotype, who don't experience the world as they do. By imposing NT social skills onto autistic kids it sends a message that neurotypicals somehow have it right and autistics have it wrong.

A teenage male sat on a bench on their own looking down at their mobile phone. Grey background

Forcing NT social skills on autistic people leads to:

The rationale behind teaching Social Skills is so that autistic people learn how to socialise in the 'real world' (with NTs...) so they can make friends and live fulfilling lives. But often the result is that autistic people experience the opposite. Telling them that in order to make friends and be successful in life they must perform these social skills and act more NT is extremely damaging. It teaches them to mask. Having to adopt the social skills of NTs makes autistic people feel more isolated, insecure, depressed, and anxious because they feel they have act less autistic if they want to be accepted. It doesn't result in long-lasting meaningful friendships - it results in friendships that are surface-level, one-sided, less meaningful, and ultimately leave the autistic person feeling misunderstood and burnt out due to the exhaustion of mimicking NTs. As a marginalised group of people autistics have been historically socially rejected, bullied, and excluded since being young children - even when they try and adopt the social skills of NTs and act like everyone else. Social Skills training teaches them they must fit in, blend in, and they learn that it's not OK to be who they are.

Alot of people reading this might be thinking "ok, this sounds interesting, I get it. But wait, autistic kids have to be prepared for the 'real world' and live in society like we do. We have to teach them these skills. Everyone else has to do it, that's just life". My response to this is - It is OK to teach autistic people about how neurotypical people interact and communicate. In fact, it's important we do this, because they're likely going to be interacting with them in the community - for their own emotional and physical safety it's important they know what to expect in these interactions so that when misunderstandings happen, they know how to manage these.
 
In addition - assuming 'we' and 'everyone else' are NT, then no, it's not the same.
 
Autistic people are neurologically different and are living in a world that's not set up for them. This means that NT people do not experience the daily struggles and barriers that autistic people do on a daily basis. NTs don't have to mask like autistics do because they haven't experienced years of social trauma whereby masking is a conditioned response as a way to self-protect. NTs don't need to do this. And if they do 'mask' it is not to the same detriment or cost on their mental, emotional, sensory, physical health. They don't have sensory overload and meltdowns due to suppressing personality and physical traits that are deemed as socially undesirable. They don't have to spend hours/days/weeks attempting to re-charge from constant social interaction demands. They don't experience the damage to self-esteem. They don't have to suppress their stimming, echolalia, communication style or special interests. They don't have to force eye-contact to the point where it's physically painful or anxiety-inducing. They don't have to give up their authenticity in order to be accepted.

Autistic people have BETTER social engagement when they are with other autistic people

THE RESEARCH / EVIDENCE

  • Autistic people share information just as successfully as NT people. Autistic people "have the skills to share information well with one another and experience good rapport, and that there are selective problems when autistic and non-autistic people are interacting" - (Crompton et al., 2020)
     
  • Autistic people disclosed more about themselves to other autistic people compared to non-autistic people. "Results suggest that social affiliation may increase for autistic adults when partnered with other autistic people, and support reframing social interaction difficulties in autism as a relational rather than an individual impairment" - (Morison et al., 2020)
     
  • "Neurotypical peers are less willing to interact with those with autism based on thin slice judgments" - (Sasson et al., 2017)
Grey background of two hands holding a small black paper heart

The take-away message...

​Just as much as we teach autistic children about what NT social skills look like, it's imperative we teach NT children what autistic social skills look like, and to ACCEPT differences. We need to allow autistic people to communicate in the way that they prefer and let them be who they truly are. 

"Autistic people lack empathy"

Whilst I'm not denying that some autistic people lack empathy (as with any group of people), it has been postulated for decades that being autistic = having no empathy. Autistic people actually feel things so intensely that it is overwhelming. Some of the most empathic people I know are autistic. Being hypersensitive to stimuli in the environment means that other people's emotions can be exhausting (see 'Sensory Processing'). Social reciprocity can be too demanding when an autistic person is trying to process so much stimuli whilst managing language processing / executive functioning difficulties. However, to NTs, this is often misinterpreted as a communication deficit or coldness.
Two light skinned hands touching each other on a wooden table with a rainbow shining on them
The Double Empathy Problem proposed by Dr. Damian Milton (an autistic researcher / academic) states that empathy is a relational, transactional process and so a conversation is a 2-way street. The misunderstandings that occur between a neurotypical and an autistic person happens to both people. The mutual incomprehension is shared by both sets of people; the non-autistic AND autistic person. A neurotypical person will not understand how an autistic person experiences the world and does not communicate the way an autistic person does.
Yet, it's autistic people who are labelled as having social impairments and given treatment to force them to understand non-autistics better, instead of teaching NTs the communication styles of autistic people. NTs communicate in very different ways. E.g. in my experiences, NT individuals have a greater tendency to drop hints and assume the other person knows what they are thinking based on little information (mind reading) and then expect them to know what response to give. I often find myself having to ask multiple follow-up questions to what a NT says, especially when I am asked a question. They often impose their ideas of what's socially acceptable and do not consider what is going on in the mind of the autistic person in these exchanges. '. 
Autistic people experience constant communication breakdowns with people in the community because of the differences in communication styles. Many NTs will claim they have superior social skills than autistics. But this is simply not true. There are MANY NTs who lack empathy and have poor social skills. NTs don't say what they mean, leave room for different interpretations, are vague in what they say, and then when autistic people ask questions for clarification, the NT treats them like they're the one with the problem. When we say "I don't know what you mean", or "I don't understand", it's just as much the responsibility of the NT to clarify the misunderstanding and communicate clearly. NTs say autistic people lack the ability to perspective-take, have rigid inflexible thinking. Yet it's often NTs that have inflexible thinking and don't perspective-take with autistic people.
A green speech bubble with yellow scrunched up balls in the middle in front of a yellow background
 

"Autistic people lack a Theory of Mind (ToM)"

ToM is said to be 'the ability to put yourself in another person's shoes' and it is impaired in autistic people (or non-existent), however, it has been widely misunderstood for decades and completely de-bunked. The ToM conceptcomes from a false-belief (deception) test designed in the 1980s called The Sally-Anne test. Clinical Psychologist Simon Baron-Cohen and colleagues designed the test in order to assess a child's ToM. They found that the autistic children failed this test whereas the neurotypical children passed it. Baron-Cohen formulated the "mindblindness" theory (an inability to know what others are thinking) and his findings led to this theory being used as the framework for decades of research and interventions regarding autism. It's taught on college courses and degree programs. 

ISSUES WITH THE TEST

1) There is more to passing this test than having an 'intact' ToM.

It's not enough to demonstrate that the child can predict the outcomes of others. To follow it the child must follow the actions of 2 characters in a narrative, has to know that Sally could not have seen the switching of objects, and has to understand the exact meaning of the question. So if you are a child with language difficulties, has problems sequencing, has anxiety, attentional difficulties, they could easily fail.

 

2) The study's sample size was TINY.

In the study only 20 autistic children and 27 neurotypical children were included, or, as Baron-Cohen described, "NORMAL CHILDREN". To draw such conclusions from a small number of participants is concerning especially since it sparked a generation of theories and assumptions. 
 

3) The test is based on neurotypical developmental norms 

...and it draws conclusions based on the researchers' experiences of the world. Which is a neurotypical experience.
 

4) Autistic people don't tend to do well on tests that involve deception.
 

5) The ToM deficit cannot account for the 2 sets of people failing to understand each other
 

6) ToM might be delayed in some autistic children but that doesn't mean it never exists

The Sally Anne Test used in a Theory of Mind test from the 1980s

The Sally-Anne test

ALTERNATE THEORIES...

A round shape with a white background and a black heart shape made from two hands
What's interesting is that a slightly altered version of the test was conducted with autistic children whereby a reward was offered for the correct answer, and this drastically improved the results (74% of children passed this test, whereas only 13% passed the original test). And there has since been a newer theory: ToM can be separated into affective empathy (inferring people's emotions) and cognitive empathy (inferring people's beliefs). Whilst some autistic people score lower on cognitive measures, it has been found that they score no differently on affective measures compared to non-autistics. 
 

SOURCES

 

  • Milton, D. E. M. (2012). On the ontological status of autism: The ‘double empathy problem’. Disability & Society, 27(6), 883-887.

  • "Speaking of autism" (2020). - The double empathy problem: Link 

  • Sasson, N., Faso, D., Nugent, J. et al. Neurotypical Peers are Less Willing to Interact with Those with Autism based on Thin Slice Judgments. Sci Rep 7, 40700 (2017). https://doi.org/10.1038/srep40700

  • Kasari C, Dean M, Kretzmann M, Shih W, Orlich F, Whitney R, Landa R, Lord C, King B. Children with autism spectrum disorder and social skills groups at school: a randomized trial comparing intervention approach and peer composition. J Child Psychol Psychiatry. 2016 Feb;57(2):171-9. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26391889/

  • Crompton CJ, Ropar D, Evans-Williams CV, Flynn EG, Fletcher-Watson S. Autistic peer-to-peer information transfer is highly effective. Autism. 2020;24(7):1704-1712. doi:10.1177/1362361320919286

  • Morrison KE, DeBrabander KM, Jones DR, Faso DJ, Ackerman RA, Sasson NJ. Outcomes of real-world social interaction for autistic adults paired with autistic compared to typically developing partners. Autism. 2020 Jul;24(5):1067-1080. doi: 10.1177/1362361319892701

  • Peterson, C., Slaughter, V., Peterson, J., Premack, D. (2013). "Children with autism can track others' beliefs in a competitive game. Link

  • The Sally-Anne test. Baron-Cohen, Simon; Leslie, Alan M.; Frith, Uta (October 1985). "Does the autistic child have a "theory of mind"? - Link

  • Mutual (Mis)understanding: Reframing Autistic Pragmatic “Impairments” Using Relevance Theory Citation: Williams GL, Wharton T and Jagoe C (2021) Mutual (Mis)understanding: Reframing Autistic Pragmatic “Impairments” Using Relevance Theory. Front. Psychol. 12:616664. doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2021.616664 link